Cher Honored with Hands and Footprints Ceremony at Grauman’s Chinese Theatre


Cher

Goddess of Pop Cher was immortalized on Hollywood Boulevard when she sinked her hands and feet into the cement in front of Grauman’s Chinese Theatre on Thursday November 18th, 2010.

Cher rose to stardom in 1965 as one half of the pop rock duo Sonny & Cher with the success of their song “I Got You Babe.” She then worked as an established solo recording artist and is the only female solo artist to reach the Top Ten of the Billboard Hot 100 in each of the previous four decades.

Her mother Georgia Holt and son Chaz Bono witnessed the ceremony.

“This is more special than you can possibly imagine because when I was 4 years old my mother and I came to this theater, actually my dad too, saw ‘Cinderella,’ ” Cher said, recalling her childhood experience. “I said to my mother, ‘When I grow up I’m going to do this.'”

This was an amazing experience for myself also. When I was a child I use to watch Cher on TV shows and listen to her music on the radio. Never in my life until now would I have imagined that I would ever get to experience this event live in front of my face 15 feet away.

This is a memory that will be ingrained in my mind for a lifetime.

Watch the event:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcEpWc4PysI

Leave a Reply

